Pine-Richland students rake in honors - PineCreek Journal

Pine-Richland students rake in honors

Monday, April 22, 2019 | 1:30 AM

Pine-Richland High School junior Olivia McGeary performed at the Pennsylvania Music Educators All-State Choral program at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center on April 6.

Olivia and junior Claire Tobin, along with sophomore Kristen Donahoe, and seniors Bryan Bails, Seamus Daniello, and Lucy Hess also participated in the PMEA Regional Choral program, and Thomas Andrews and Spencer Harris joined them in the PMEA District Choral program.

Sophomore Miriam Layne and seniors Kevin Lee and Christopher Musotvic participated in the PMEA District Orchestra program in addition to the PMEA District Honors Orchestra along with ninth-grader Nicholas Labuda.

Also, ninth-grader Nathan Skripak and eighth-graders Ryan Daniels and Natalie McLean participated in the PMEA Junior High Orchestra; senior Benjamin Luiken participated in the PMEA Honors Jazz Band; ninth-grader Aidan Frick and sophomore William Koebnick participated in the PMEA Honors Band; and William, sophomore Meredith Bille and seniors Spencer Harris and Parker Schubert participated in the PMEA District Band program.

• Several teams from Pine-Richland earned awards at area robotics competitions. The high school team — consisting of seniors Sean Adams, Lauren Allen, Jacob Anderson, Christopher Bissell, Ian Fletcher, Jacob Garretson, Andrew Helmsen, Kyle Mackay, Brian Phipps, Reis Ravotti, Jaime Rivero, Ashley Settineri, Alexander Spang, Kira Welker and Otavio Wilkinson-Baldauf — finished first out of 21 teams at the Southwestern Pennsylvania BotsIQ preliminary rounds at Butler Community College and are scheduled to compete next at regionals at California University of Pennsylvania on April 26-27.

• A.W. Beattie’s For Inspiration & Recognition of Science & Technology (FIRST) Robotics Team competed against 44 schools and earned the Industrial Design Award at the FIRST Regional Robotics High School Competition at the California University in March. The industrial design honor is given to the team that best designs and builds a robot with elegance, efficiency, and practicality. Sophomores Max Romano and Aakash Kottakota, and ninth-grader Brayden Deviancy were a part of the winning team.

• The PRHS Peer-to-Peer student group earned first place at the Jefferson Awards Program on April 4 and will represent Pine-Richland at the national program. Students who presented at the program included ninth-grader Saige Schlutz; sophomores Charlotte Menke, Mikayla Schiffer, and Kareem Zein; and juniors Enyo Akwayena, Julia Simendinger, Anna Wagner and Levi Wentz.

• Julia Herrle, a 2015 Pine-Richland graduate now at Princeton, was chosen for the 2019 cohort of the Scholars in the Nation’s Service Initiative. The senior at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs is pursuing certificates in Environmental Studies and in Values and Public Life.