Applications being accepted for open seat on Pine-Richland school board - PineCreek Journal

Applications being accepted for open seat on Pine-Richland school board

Thursday, December 5, 2019 | 12:01 AM

The Pine-Richland school board held its annual reorganization meeting on Dec. 2 and officially opened the period for community members interested in claiming the open seat to send in applications.

The opening is in Region 3, where a total of three seats were open in the November election but only two candidates ran, incumbents Matthew Mehalik and Carla Meyer. Virginia Goebel did not seek reelection following her eight years of service. It is a two-year commitment that will last through Nov. 21 when the next municipal election is held.

In order to be considered, applicants must live in Region 3 (a map is available at, be at least 18 years old, have lived in the district for at least a year and “appreciate the value of service to the community and have the desire to guide, collaborate and work with a team,” according to the district.

Applications can be found online at and must be submitted to Barbara Williams, school board secretary, at [email protected] by

5 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 13. The board will interview applicants beginning at 6 p.m. on Dec. 17 in the district offices.

The four board members sworn in at the Dec. 2 meeting were all incumbents who ran unopposed in the November election: Peter Lyons, Marc Casciani, Mehalik and Meyer. District superintendent Brian Miller noted the lack of turnover within the board.

“We have been fortunate enough over time together to build the kind of stability, cohesion and clarity of mission, of focus, of strategy that is exceptional,” he said. “That is something that, as a senior leadership team, we do not take for granted. On behalf of the entire district I just want to say thank you and how much we appreciate the opportunity to lead and work hard with you to pursue our mission for every student.”

The positions within the board will also remain the same in 2020 as they were in 2019. Lyons was named president and Christine Misback vice president for the third year in a row. Meyer was reappointed as the legislative representative to the Pennsylvania School Boards Association, Misback was reappointed as representative to the A.W. Beattie Career Center Joint Committee for a two-year term and as a representative for the Pine-Richland Opportunities Fund, Lyons was reappointed as the Food Service Advisory & Wellness Committee representative and Dana Kirk, director of financial and operational services, was reappointed delegate to Allegheny North Tax Collection Committee with Casciani serving as alternate.